On the Transgender Community and its Internal Division

As some of you already know, I identify as genderqueer. It’s a term I’ve known since the 90’s, and claimed for myself in my mid-20’s (during the mid 2000’s). After spending twelve years believing I was a “trans-man”*, and supporting my partner at the time through the beginnings of his transition, I realized that I didn’t wish to change my body. At all, really.

Of course there are things I would change, I’m sure everyone wishes their ears didn’t stick out, or their hips were a little narrower, or whatever, but I liked my breasts, for all the damage I’d done to them binding with duct tape for so many years. I liked my genitals, too, once I figured out how they worked.

Read More at Family Transcends News

Leave a Reply

